Sunday Go to Meeting Bun!

BUN!Guest Blogger:

Natalina!

 

NatalinaI’ve Been There: A Message to Nonbelievers

Posted by 

 1 day ago

 

Recently, there has been an outpouring of anti-Christian commentary on this blog, both in the comments and in my inbox.  It is difficult for me to address all of these accusations individually, so I wanted to take a moment to reach out to the large percentage of my readers who are not Christian.  Particularly, to those who have a very negative view of Christians and Christianity.  I pray that you’ll just give me a few moments of your time.  This is my personal message to nonbelievers.

I have been exactly where some of you are. I went from hating God to outright denying His existence. I couldn’t conceive of an all loving Creator. It didn’t make sense to me. And I REALLY hated Christians. HATED them! I figured they were all about judgement. I would use scripture against them, and really liked to watch them squirm. Who could blame me? I’ve seen it all. I’ve seen Christians who are jerks. I’ve seen Westboro Baptist Church. I was told by a preacher that I was going to hell because my heart was black as coal. I wasn’t even 10 years old when that message was delivered to me by a “man of God.” I saw the sideways glances and felt the contempt from so many people who claimed to love this Jesus. Frankly, I thought it was a load of BS and I wanted NO PART OF IT.

I tried the Christian thing for many years. I was probably what you could call a CHRINO (Christian in Name Only).  I taught Sunday school at age 19, even though I wasn’t convinced that the Bible was true.  I went to camps and retreats and ski trips and more.  I got confirmed, I took communion, I memorized bumper sticker scripture.  But all I felt was judgement.  All I felt was disappointment.

Message to Nonbelievers

Somewhere, I knew there HAD to be more to this life. I really wanted to find it. I went through agonizing years of searching for some other belief system to fill the void. Nothing worked. I became a wreck. I did precisely what some here are doing. I projected my hatred onto others. I hated these people who seemed so happy, and I just assumed they hated me as well. So I’d say things like, “Freak!” and “You’re so judgmental!” even when no one was actually judging me. I got close with a number of very devout Christians, and I imagined that their life must be miserable. I felt sorry for them.  I was just so angry. I called my anger “passion”… but truthfully, I was just plain pissed off.

I liked to speak with authority about how Christians were full of it.  It made me feel like I was smarter. More evolved. More enlightened.  Christians were the rusty link in the human chain.  The leaky hole in the bucket of progress.  I was better. I was smarter. I had it figured out.  I said things like “I would rather be free in hell than a slave in heaven.”  I was rebellious! And I was really cool.  I was at the height of my anti-Christian rhetoric the first time I contemplated suicide.  Looking back, I am surprised that I didn’t make the connection between my emptiness spiritually and my emptiness emotionally.  I just thought I was awesome, even while I thought I was nothing.

Then, at my lowest low, I had an experience of deliverance. It didn’t come from a church or a pastor or concerned friends or family. It came from a direct word from God and He told me to be anxious for nothing. (Philippians 4:6)  He came to me when I was drowning.  I was adrift in an ocean of despair, and he wanted me. Me? Me! And I decided that a God who cared that much about me must be the real deal. Things didn’t miraculously change that minute. Life wasn’t and isn’t all roses, but I did change. I started to see people differently. I started to see people the way Jesus sees people. Broken. Hurting. Beautiful. Worth saving. Totally worth it.

Life became worth living, but more than that… I now had a purpose.  And remember how I used that phrase about being a slave in Heaven??  Well, now I was able to see that with Jesus, I was more free than I had ever been in my life.

Message to Nonbelievers

And I realized that Christians are impossible to compartmentalize. Those old ladies in their church pews condemning everyone… well guess what? They don’t deserve Grace any more than I do. Those pastors who made me feel like a failure. They don’t deserve salvation and forgiveness any more than I do. Yet He loves all of us. And has Grace abundant enough for everyone. All you have to do is receive it.

You know who else is impossible to compartmentalize? Nonbelievers. Christians kinda love to lump every non-Christian into a single camp. But that’s not how it works. Everyone has a story. Everyone has a struggle. And everyone is capable of receiving His grace. Right where they are. No need to get your life together first. No need to be perfect. No need to feel like you’ve got it all figured out. Just receive it. Believe that He can save you. He will.  And on that day, I promise you, you will change.  You will see the world in a way that you’ve never experienced it before.  And that animosity will fade away.  You will start to see people through His eyes.

Meanwhile, I try to see you all as Jesus sees you and I think you’re all beautiful. And He loves you. Even if you don’t love Him and you don’t love us… He’s waiting for you. He loves you. He created you. You are fearfully and wonderfully made. By Him.

If you have any questions about Jesus, or if you just want me to give you a reason for the hope that is in me, please feel free to use the contact form at the top of this site.

 

Please pray for these folks every time the Spirit of the Living God calls it our attention.  Prayer changes things….

Patrick Heron – Healing

Sue – Healing

Dr. Roger Leir – He is not doing well and I told him last night we would hold him in prayer and ask for his healing!

Jim Rosenquest – Healing

Steve – Salvation

 

35 thoughts on “Sunday Go to Meeting Bun!

  1. Awesome, awesome, awesome testimony. Many blessings to all today.

    Prayers would appreciated today for myself and anyone in the line of this cold front that’s going to make its way through the country today. We’re all too warm and it’s a perfect setup for very bad weather. Thanks!

    • Got it Eric! Prayers for protection and overcoming!! In Jesus’ Name.

      6m Tornado warning issued for Boone and McHenry Counties in Illinois until 10:15 am CST – @CNNweather

      1h Tornado Watch issued for portions of Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Missouri, Wisconsin until 4 pm CST – @NWSSPC

    • 1m Large, damaging tornado reported on the ground is expected to arrive in Streator, Ill., between 11:50 am and 12 pm CST, – @NWSChicago says

      “http://www.breakingnews.com/topic/us-midwest-severe-weather-threat-nov-17-2013/”

    • Yup. When you spike at 70 in late November in the Midwest and an arctic cold front starts coming your way this is not a good combo.😉

      Prayers appreciated. Could be touch and go as you can already see.

    • I am in the cold snowy region of Montana. I woke up this morning and it was 8 degrees, it snowed last night. We are going to a birthday party for my friend’s son’s 3rd birthday. My neighbor just flew back from Florida today where it was 86 degrees. Bad weather is to be expected without a doubt. On topic of the blog post I too agree it is a wonderful testimony!

    • Well, I saw a comet in the sky and heard that tornadoes were on the ground today. I wonder what will happen next.

      (I think it was Lovejoy that I saw, for the second time this week, and it looked like it had six tails at least. Beautiful, but a bit unnerving.)

      I hope all on this blog are well and still firmly earth-bound, as well as their homes and possessions and small pets. The winds have been pretty fierce.

  2. “http://www.bubblews.com/news/39014-scars”
    “http://nolaughingmatterministries.org/2010/01/13/scars/”

    …scars aren’t just about pain, hurt, and injury. They’re also about healing, and that’s the part that the devil doesn’t want us to think about. As long as we’re thinking about the hurt, we’re not thinking about the healing that has taken place.

    I imagine that Paul had alot of scars, and the scars, or marks, that he had were truly the marks of Christ, because they were there for the sake of the Gospel…. (Gal. 6:17, 2 Cor. 11:23-28)

    Thomas says, “Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails, and put my finger into the print of the nails, and thrust my hand into His side, I will not believe….”

    Do not hide your scars, but instead show them to everyone. You bear the Marks of Christ in your body. Those Scars that you carry become a part of the Gospel, which means “the Good News.” You have been delivered by the hand of God and that is indeed good news. Show the world so that they may believe!!

    • Nome,
      thank you so much for sharing the part about pain, and healing, and how the devil doesn’t want us to think about healing ..specifically, God’s healing. Life is hard for us all, and pain in every way, is rampant because of being in a world of pain . But truth is, God reaches into our spirits with such healing in those tough, tough times, and breaks the spirit of despair when we call out to Him for help in troubled times.
      Goodness knows, Satan wants NONE of us to do that calling out, and casts doubt into our spirit when we do about God not being powerful enough to heal even the deepest hurts.
      I guess I am just being upfront here, and will say I need the prayers of Gods true prayer warriors right now to help break a cycle of deep, long time pain right now, because the enemy is using it to keep me in a cycle of hurting I can’t get past on my own. Please pray because the more I shout out about God’s amazing Grace to others whom are hurting, the more the enemy shouts out I don’t deserve it.

    • Sometimes I wonder, Karen, if what we go through is preparation for what we’ll do with Jesus in the new creation. For instance, someone who helps Him make creatures like animals really would benefit by knowing the traumas they could go through, whether long term chronic physical pain, or emotional distress, or spiritual “barrage” (overload).

      There’s a wonderful set of books called “Ten Fingers for God” and “The Gift of Pain.” They’re about Dr. Paul Brand and his family. They were missionaries in India from Britain. His mother remained a missionary well into her old age going from village to village. He pioneered the surgeries used to restore limbs lost to leprosy and later headed up global efforts to eradicate leprosy (bacillus).

      The Word gives us that we don’t know yet what we’ll be, but we will by like Christ when He returns. And He didn’t give up His scars — for a reason.

      Abba, in Y’shua’s name (even Jesus) I pray that in learning to detach from the pains of these “tabernacles” (bodies) we dwell in that we not give up the awareness of how exquisitely you’ve made them to signal us and guide us to do what we need to sustain ourselves and our loved ones well, including caring for themselves. And please just turn down the volume and the over-sensitivity when there’s nothing we can do that’s not compromising, like using pain killers and misusing things that deaden or distract and take us away from the interactions you want us to have with others. Please give Karen release and overcoming by your charge to ease, restore, heal and do all that which you’ve welcomed to do in Luke 4 and Isaiah 61 — through your Son — knowing fully what it is to be frail and broken as creatures in our illnesses, injuries, and aging. As you taste death for us in our place, also please take the brunt of Karen’s pain. Please enable us with full heart to more than just say, Thanks! Your will be done. Amen.

    • And they’re right, Karen; none of us deserve it. Just another attempt by the enemy to get our eyes off of God and onto ourselves. A soft answer turns away wrath, and that works in the demonic realm as well. All we need is Jesus, all we need to do is call His name. Why do we fight battles like it is up to us instead of resting in the Victor Who has already provide us the victory before the world was formed? What Satan has meant for evil, God has meant for good. Take every thought captive and live by what we know instead of how we feel. I’m praying for you.

  3. I have been through a lot and sometimes even though I seem to be growing in Christ’s love I dont reciprocate. In fact I can be darn right angry at non believers, people that have done me wrong and Muslims. I dont seem to have the Child like faith. Which I want. Its hard to just let go and not judge others.

    • You are not alone bro. I think the more we seek Him with a broken and contrite heart, our heart conforms to His thus changing how we react to arguments and attitudes of unbelief.

  4. Amazing bun! Outstanding article! We can’t give love without knowing the Lord personally because He is love! I’ve been in that special state when I realize that I’m loving the least of people or animals that others do not like, except snakes or slimy things that I haven’t overcome–yet. I’ve taken flack for it and criticized dearly for it. Praying for those who need prayers. I’m still down–need computer issues resolved.

  5. Yes, life is wayyyyy better as a Born Again, there’s real purpose in life, wayyyyy more forgiving, wayyyyy less stress and anger. Phil 4:5-6 is a favorite of mine too. Good job, LA

  6. Pingback: Sunday Go to Meeting Bun! | Watching the Watchers

  7. Lest we forget…

    “http://worldnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/11/17/21496134-typhoon-haiyan-a-crisis-by-the-numbers?lite”

    quote:
    12,501: The number of individuals injured, according to the Philippine disaster council.
    1,186 are still missing, according to the council.
    3 million people have been displaced, with 371,000 people currently living in 1,086 evacuation centers and 2.7 million people displaced elsewhere.
    2.5 million people are in need of food assistance, according to U.N. estimates.

  8. And I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, Now is come salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of his Christ: for the accuser of our brethren is cast down, which accused them before our God day and night. And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb, and by the word of their testimony ; and they loved not their lives unto the death.

  9. It’s moon-day again in the secularized cult states of amerika….
    … with 80+ tornadoes, 3 volcanos, and a 7.8 quake over the weekend
    … not to mention a collections of comets.

    The impending disaster of the week is the fukushima radioactive rod removal project.

    Thought for the Day (in heavy x-soviet accent)
    “in russia, it may be true that only president assassinates with bolt action rifle…
    …but in amerika — only presidents have magic bullets”

    Nonetheless, Overcomers — This is the Day the Lord has made, Rejoice and be Glad in it!
    … also think about getting into The Disaster Recovery Business
    … to help your neighbors before the tribulations come
    (ps. the rich are buying bunkers)

  10. Thank you LA! I love your passion and your desire for God and his people! Keep standing strong, you are a light in the darkness for many people with many questions , I pray Godspeed to you and your ministry. Thank you!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Comments are closed.