Sunday Bun – A Repost!

Bun!!!Good morning everyone and welcome to yet another Sunday Morning Go-to-meeting-bun. Today we’ll take a look at Psalm 2. This is what is called a messianic Psalm, in that it points to Jesus. I believe it also points to Revelation where we see the Kings of the earth assembled by the spirit of the Anti Christ on the plains of Megiddo! Let’s look at it verse by verse to gain an understanding of what this psalm is telling us.

Why do the nations rage, And the people plot a vain thing? Here we see that the nations are raging and plotting what the most high God considers, a vain thing. Why? Because He knows that all of their plotting will amount to nothing. He knows this because He can see the future!

The kings of the earth set themselves, And the rulers take counsel together, Against the LORD and against His Anointed, [saying], “Let us break Their bonds in pieces And cast away Their cords from us.” The nations rage because they believe that they somehow can alter the rule of the Messiah, hence the reference to the Lord and his ANOINTED one. I believe that those who are mentioned here are deliberately casting their lot in with the Anti Christ, the Beast and the False Prophet. This passage refers to the gathering in the last days when the ANOINTED one, Jesus returns with the armies of heaven and defeats, Satan and the armies that he has gathered in Israel at the battle of Armegeddon.

He who sits in the heavens shall laugh; The LORD shall hold them in derision. This is pretty straight forward in that all of the machinations of the enemy and those who follow his wickedness don’t amount too much in the eyes of the most High God. In other words, He is not threatened in the least by what I would consider Satan’s last stand.

Then He shall speak to them in His wrath, And distress them in His deep displeasure: At some point the armies realize that the jig is up and they are about to get clobbered. In other words Satan has deceived them, it’s one of his attributes, that of deception, and the Kings of the earth come to a sobering conclusion that they have placed their allegiance on the wrong side!

“Yet I have set My King On My holy hill of Zion.” I believe that this is direct reference to Jerusalem! The Holy Hill in Zion is where the temple mount exists today. Jerusalem has been called the apple of God’s eye, it is why the Messiah will return to Jerusalem, not New York or Paris!

I will declare the decree: The LORD has said to Me, ‘You [are] My Son, Today I have begotten You. Here we see a direct reference to the Messiah, Jesus.

Ask of Me, and I will give [You] The nations [for] Your inheritance, And the ends of the earth [for] Your possession. You shall break [fn] them with a rod of iron; You shall dash them to pieces like a potter’s vessel.’ ” We know from the book of Revelation that when He returns he will rule in Jerusalem for 1000 years. This is called the Millenium and I hold to the position that it is literal and that we will reign with him. Here’s a scenario to think about. We are told in Revelation that one-third of the earth, water, and air is destroyed, burned up, poisoned. I would pose to you that a good part of the 1000 years may be one big clean up operation, with you and me doing the cleaning! Another dynamic is that the curse between the animal kingdom and mankind will be lifted. How would you like a pet polar bear?

Now therefore, be wise, O kings; Be instructed, you judges of the earth. Serve the LORD with fear, And rejoice with tremblingKiss the Son, [fn] lest He be angry, And you perish [in] the way, When His wrath is kindled but a little. Blessed [are] all those who put their trust in Him.

At some point in our history this event will happen.He will come back and establish the long-awaited kingdom on earth. Human history will end and we will be in the presence of the King. As the closing line of the Psalm indicates, those of us who put our trust in Him are to be blessed! The question that is posed in Peter, where is the promise of His coming, will be answered dramatically, as Jesus defeats the system of Satan, with all of its misery, deception, lying and brokenness and wipes away every tear. This is our blessed hope!

 

28 thoughts on “Sunday Bun – A Repost!

  1. LA, Thank you for your ministry, such a unique perspective. I moved to Costa Rica last Oct. and love it here. My husband and I retired from teaching at Purdue and so were free to get out of the place which was a relief. I pray for you and all those in Christ who follow on to know the Lord. Look after yourself.

  2. Amen! I love Psalm 2 for defending the LORD and HIS Word. I do think that this Psalm happens repeatedly though on a smaller scale (individually and globally).

  3. Oh Faithful I just heard. I’m in shock too! We did everything we could within our power to fight for her life. We hoped and we prayed, we exercised our faith the way Jesus taught us to. We stood on God’s word as best we could. We prayed for her fervently and continually, we fought death with every weapon we had. Just because things happen a certain way, doesn’t necessarily mean it was God’s will. Some things we will never understand in this life. The last enemy to be conquered is death. Jesus hasn’t yet (literally) subdued all of His enemies and death is a big one. That doesn’t mean we shouldn’t fight against it in faith.

    Our hearts are wrapped around you in solemn prayer. We pray the comfort of the Holy Spirit and the peace of God to encompass you and quiet your spirit. We pray that your faith ( and your son’s faith), though its taken a mighty blow, will remain strong. Be strong especially for your son, who is also badly shaken and has suffered the loss of his dear mother. Lean your whole being on the Holy Spirit (let go and drape yourself over Him), allow Him to carry you for a while. The Father sent Him to us and this is His job as Comforter. It’s times like these He will be there for you, He will not abandon us in our time of need. When you enter into the Spirit, in that secret place, you will sense His comforting presence embracing you from within. In that same Spirit and comfort, our own hearts are also reaching out to you in comfort and love. Though it seems very dark right now, God has a way of turning things around in due time, (book of Job). Your strong faith in God will be the light that will carry you through this present darkness until you reach the other side.

    (1 Cor 15:24)
    24 Then cometh the end, when He ( Jesus) shall have delivered up the kingdom to God, even the Father; when he shall have put down all rule and all authority and power.
    25 For He must reign, till he hath put all enemies under his feet.
    26 The last enemy that shall be destroyed is death.

    • Once again, To God be the glory has made me feel like a tongue tied goober.
      Heartfelt sympathy, Faithful.

    • Just saw the sad news of your dear wife passing yesterday. Also praying, dear Faithful, and echoing the heartfelt prayers of others offered to you in today’s and yesterday’s posts.

    • Faithful, i also just saw your post regarding your wife’s passing. I’m so sad for you…I have been praying for you and her and will continue to lift you and your family up. For her the travail of this life is over, praise Jesus for that! I ask God to give you grace to endure the rest of your journey looking toward the day soon when you will be reunited.

  4. Yes, the Blessed Hope. I hang on to this One Blessed Hope . I’m a truck driver but I grew up in construction(Masonry,carpentry,and Concrete) and I for one will beg of The Lord Jesus to please let me have a part of cleaning up this earth . Taking down these power lines,telephone lines,commercial advertising signs, recycling the metals putting back metals and clay and rocks back into the earth and then replacing with flowers,trees, and all sorts of vegetation . Cleaning the beaches up clearing the poisons. Oh man, it would be a labor that I would rejoice in and praising God The Most High while I’m cleaning. And I don’t sing never could hold a tune worth a lick, but I will even be singing to The Lord as I am cleaning up. Praise God will be the start of every song I will sing to Him.

  5. Dear Faithful,My heart grieves greatly for you and yours at this time.May the Holy Spirit fill you and get you through this .As only God can fill a hole such as this.It will take much time to get through this brother,so please give it time and grieve, gash your teeth,and wail.But stay here with us brother because no matter what happens here on earth Our Father has work for you here still and will call you home too only when it is the proper time to do so.In the meantime take comfort in the truth that she is now resting in the arms of Our mighty Lord and out of pain and misery. With love your brother in Christ. Randall

  6. The scriptures and writings of our spiritual parents speak for themselves.
    They have labored long with Christ to bring us out of each generation…..

    Psalm 3
    3 But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.
    4 I cried unto the LORD with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill.

    Galatians 4
    25 For this [Ha]gar is mount Sinai in Arabia,
    and answers to Jerusalem which now is and is in bondage with her children.
    26 But Jerusalem which is above is free, which is the mother of us all.

    Hebrews 12
    22 But ye are come unto mount [Z]ion, and unto the city of the living God, the heavenly Jerusalem,
    and to an innumerable company of angels, 23 To the general assembly and church of the firstborn,
    which are written in heaven
    , and to God the Judge of all, and to the spirits of just men made perfect,

    24 And to Jesus the mediator of the new covenant, and to the blood of sprinkling,
    that speaketh better things than that of Abel.
    25 See that ye refuse not him that speaketh.
    For if they escaped not who refused him that spake on earth,
    much more shall not we escape, if we turn away from him that speaketh from heaven:

    Revelation 12 [see Ps. 45:13,16-17]
    1 And there appeared a great wonder in heaven; a woman
    clothed with the sun, and the moon under her feet,
    and upon her head a crown of twelve stars:
    2 And she being with child cried, travailing in birth, and pained to be delivered.

    Revelation 21
    1 And I saw a new heaven and a new earth:
    for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea.

    2 And I John saw the holy city, new Jerusalem, coming down from God out of heaven,
    prepared as a bride adorned for her husband.
    3 And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying, Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men,
    and he will dwell with them, and they shall be his people, and God himself shall be with them,
    and be their God.

    4 And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death,
    neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain
    :
    for the former things are passed away.

  7. Faithful-
    I’m sorry for your loss. A friend in Christ sent me this last week while she is faithfully waiting for her healing:

    “As for some being healed and some not, I think that is a question that none of us can answer surely.

    One time, I heard a preacher say that God does not give us more than we could bear, so He takes some home before they must suffer greater things. Someone else said once that those who are taken early or who were not healed, completed the purpose that they were here for.

    We know that we will not have all the answers here on this earth. There will be things happen that we do not understand, but no matter what, we must keep trusting the Lord, knowing that He loves us. It is a bloody war, and as proven in Daniel, when Satan and his princes were fighting against Michael and Gabriel over the answer to Daniel’s prayer, we know that Satan does not always ask permission.

    He still defies God and rebels, but the Lord conquers. When we join our Creator and Savior, our questions will be answered, but somehow I think that once we are in His presence, the things of the world won’t matter anymore.”

    -What a day of rejoicing that will be. But until then brother, let us continue on fighting the good fight of faith.
    He does all things well.
    Kari

  8. thank you so much for your kind words. I am still too numb to grieve. I lost it when she opened her eyes and looked at me and let this deep gasp out and (i hear this is very very rare) closed them for the last time.

    The funeral home called and my wife had written out her own eulugy from about 6 months ago when she felt herself getting worse.. I told them she wanted a service with her brother n law to preside over it and she wanted a casket not a cremation. They said that since i had no income this would be impossible, because the basic downpayment was 3,500 dollars and i would have to go against her wishes. OH REALLY?

    My mother held out her hands for mine and we prayed . She asked the Lord to aid us in our hour of grievance and desperation.

    Less than 15 seconds later my sister (who has a wealthy husband and doesnt associate with us much since they got a 3 story house and richer friends) pulled in my driveway She told my mom that she could put in a 1,000 dollars! Her family dont want her to have any kind of service at all even though they helped her younger sister and her boyfriend do theirs.

    My wife was a generous person that would give the shirt of her back to anyone that needed it and her older sister still treated her mean out of a jealousy against her spirit of compassion. I will see that she gets her small service and burial if its the Lord’s will. After all her hardwork in taking care of us it is the least i can do. I havent slept much so ill work on what i want to say later. GOD bless you all.

    • I don’t know why, Faithful but you reminded me of my Dad who told me as a child to “Pity a miser because they suffer in ways that we will never have to know.” That $1000 is almost 1/3 of what you need and whether she could afford more or not, it is a lot of money! I would think the funeral director could offer a more affordable option or find another funeral home? Hold out on the cremation decision and talk to your local pastor before you give up.
      I can relate….I am pretty poor myself and it worries me that my kids might spend money they need for other things on a funeral for me. I would prefer a pine box to a fancy piece of polished mahogany lined with satin to dispose of the empty sack of me!
      Remember, she is not in there anymore and is already in a beautiful setting!
      I continue to pray for your pain.

    • I could get on a side rant about funeral homes capitalizing on people’s grief but I’ll spare you. Just stay on your toes as best you can with that. I know that’s easier said than done to say the least. Covering you all in prayer.

    • I agree with you Elaine. I could care less if I’m cremated or just dropped in a hole in the ground, what does it matter? We would never want our families to go into debt over these things. It doesn’t matter what people stand up and say about us when we’re gone anyway, we’re not going to hear all those nice words. Our praise, if there’s any due, will come at the judgment seat of Christ when we’re fully present and can hear every word. But there is a grieving process, however to put heavy debt on top of an already hard situation is not wise in my very humble opinion and just increases sufferings trying to fulfill wishes of someone who now could care less about what happens to her body, who’s free and no longer attached to this world. But one day soon, no matter if our bodies were burnt into ashes, or eaten by worms, or even consumed by fish in the depths of the sea, there is a predetermined, set time coming when everything will be changed, in a moment in the twinkling of an eye……

      1 Cor 15:35 But some man will say, How are the dead raised up? and with what body do they come?

      36 Thou fool, that which thou sowest is not quickened, except it die:

      37 And that which thou sowest, thou sowest not that body that shall be, but bare grain, it may chance of wheat, or of some other grain:

      38 But God giveth it a body as it hath pleased him, and to every seed his own body.

      39 All flesh is not the same flesh: but there is one kind of flesh of men, another flesh of beasts, another of fishes, and another of birds.

      40 There are also celestial bodies, and bodies terrestrial: but the glory of the celestial is one, and the glory of the terrestrial is another.

      41 There is one glory of the sun, and another glory of the moon, and another glory of the stars: for one star differeth from another star in glory.

      42 So also is the resurrection of the dead. It is sown in corruption; it is raised in incorruption:

      43 It is sown in dishonour; it is raised in glory: it is sown in weakness; it is raised in power:

      44 It is sown a natural body; it is raised a spiritual body. There is a natural body, and there is a spiritual body.

      45 And so it is written, The first man Adam was made a living soul; the last Adam was made a quickening spirit.

      46 Howbeit that was not first which is spiritual, but that which is natural; and afterward that which is spiritual.

      47 The first man is of the earth, earthy; the second man is the Lord from heaven.

      48 As is the earthy, such are they also that are earthy: and as is the heavenly, such are they also that are heavenly.

      49 And as we have borne the image of the earthy, we shall also bear the image of the heavenly.

      50 Now this I say, brethren, that flesh and blood cannot inherit the kingdom of God; neither doth corruption inherit incorruption.

      51 Behold, I shew you a mystery; We shall not all sleep, but we shall all be changed,

      52 In a moment, in the twinkling of an eye, at the last trump: for the trumpet shall sound, and the dead shall be raised incorruptible, and we shall be changed.

      53 For this corruptible must put on incorruption, and this mortal must put on immortality.

      54 So when this corruptible shall have put on incorruption, and this mortal shall have put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written, Death is swallowed up in victory.

      55 O death, where is thy sting? O grave, where is thy victory?

      56 The sting of death is sin; and the strength of sin is the law.

    • “http://www.livescience.com/16021-8-modern-burial-alternatives.html”
      “http://grave-matters.blogspot.com/”

      No one says our bodies have to be buried.

      Personally, I’d like to go the Revelation 11:7-12 route or quite similar. Amen.

  9. I posted 2 days ago but it was right after it was closed but it has to do with twin towers.Go to parablesblogspot.com March 2013 I think.AMAZING READ.Please take the time.All his stuff is.

    • I just went there and read the concerning the SS United States. Interesting. Couldn’t find the one about the twin towers though. I’ll be posting an interesting comment probably Wednesday or Thursday concerning the new “One World” trade center tower and some peculiar things I’m kinda seeing right now. I wrote the whole thing out yesterday morning and hit the “Post Comment” tab and my computer malfunctioned and I lost the whole thing. I could have taken a sledgehammer to my computer after all that typing for nothing. GRRRRR! I’ll attempt again when I have time.

  10. this is my opinion ofcourse, but i can say one thing for those of us who believe in a pre trib rapture. It keeps you alert, repenting and watching now. Those that don’t even know Christ think they have even more time if they believe in a post trib. Those that follow the post trib way of thinking can tend to believe they have more time to repent and change their vices and sinful ways because theyll have 7 years to plan and change for. I think it takes more faith to always be ready but thats again just me. GOD bless you guys.

    btw im still so numb ive not written my wife anything im praying at the moment for the spirit to come and fill me as he did back in the good old days when i wrote (im told) moving pieces.

Comments are closed.