L.A. Marzulli's Blog

Politics, Prophecy & the Supernatural

Food Shortages? Something to Think About…

Posted by lamarzulli on February 27, 2014

Food-Shortages-Creep-Across-the-Map_largeCommentary & Analysis

by

L. A. Marzulli

UN warns of looming worldwide food crisis in 2013

http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/2012/oct/14/un-global-food-crisis-warning

California is going through one of the worst droughts in the history of the state.  This is impacting the growing of crops which accounts for a good amount of the food the USA consumes.

http://www.cdfa.ca.gov/statistics/

Globally, food prices are near their historic peaks, and food price volatility is widely seen as the “new normal.”

http://www.worldbank.org/en/topic/foodsecurity

Rising food prices led to the Arab Spring!  One man who could no longer provide for his family set himself on fire and that single act of desperation led to riots across the Arab world which toppled the governments of three countries and led to the bloody civil war dragging on in Syria.  http://www.theguardian.com/global-development/poverty-matters/2011/feb/17/what-caused-egyptian-revolution

So we see that lack of food creates a climate where people can and will engage in behavior that is violent, and unpredictable.  In certain sections of Philadelphia store shelves were picked clean during the recent snow storm which knocked out the power for 5 days.

http://www.weather.com/news/georgia-north-carolina-alabama-winter-storm-grocery-stores-photos-20140211

Now consider this, if the California drought continues along with the other bizarre weather patterns and the bee die-offs, which are happening in different parts of the world, what will happen to food prices in the near future?  Will the government step in and start rationing?

Our society is enforced by the law and our civility is but a thin veneer which seems to vanish at the slightest interruption.  Think about the lawlessness that surrounded the city of New Orleans in the days after hurricane Katrina?  Think about the panic recently in Philadlephia when people realized they didn’t have enough food in their pantries to keep their families fed for a week.  Think about it!

We can either choose to prepare now or panic later.  Why not stock pile some food and water, candles and lamp oil, blankets and sleeping bags, a tent, a portable gas stove?   Last week at the Decoding the End Times Prophecy Conference, I was asked by Canary Cry Radio about what I do to prepare for an emergency.  I told them that I have a root cellar with food and water and also have a large garden where we grow most of our vegetables.

In closing todays post:  I’ve covered this before in older blogs, but with the continuing drought in California as well as the record flooding in other parts of the world I thought it prudent to bring it up again.  A good book to add to your library that discusses in these issues in depth is Holly Deyo’s book, Dare to Prepare.  Here’s the link!

https://standeyo.com/Our_Books/DTP.html

_________________________________________________________________

L. A. 2013 PHOTO 23L. A. Marzulli’s Speaking Engagements!

New Years Eve!December 31 – Calvary Chapel Oceanside – Southern Cal. http://www.calvaryoceanside.org/upcoming-events/item/322-l-a-marzulli-2014.html

Watcher’s 7!  Screening in Southern California – Saturday – Feb. 1st. 7:30 pm – Just Cause Motion Capture Stage – 4130 Del Rey Ave. Marina Del Rey!

February 21-22 – Decoding the End Times Bible Conference! www.theprophecyforum.com

March 28-30: Prophecy In the News! Orlando  www.prophecyinthenews.com

 Slaton Texas – Details coming soon!

April 25 -27: Behold the Days are Coming Conference http://www.412church.org 

May 5-15: Peru tour with L. A. Marzulli & Brein Foerster – There are still openings left!

June 13-14: Nephilim Mounds II – Details pending. www.nephilimmounds2.com

October: Tri-state Propehcy Conference – details coming soon

October 24-25: Oklahoma City – Details coming soon

To book L. A. Marzulli please email him at la@lamarzulli.net

L. A. Marzulli shares the platform with a variety of speakers with many different world views.  Marzulli does not endorse anyones world view unless specifically noted.

44 Responses to “Food Shortages? Something to Think About…”

  1. Reblogged this on JESUSAVESISRAEL.

  2. Rose from Kentucky said

    “The prudent man arises from his perceiving an evil standing before him; he sees the approaching overthrow of a decaying house, or in a sudden storm the fearful flood, and betimes [early] betakes himself to a place of safety; the simple [foolish], on the contrary, go blindly forward into the threatening danger, and must bear the punishment of their carelessness.” Proverbs 22:3

    As quoted by Bible commentators Karl Keil and Friedrich Delitzsch

    • Elaine said

      And the simple man ‘s children will bear it as well. :-(
      Everytime I think I have enough set aside to get through even a few weeks I think, “Hmmmmm, I know I will share so this is just a few days worth……better get an extra can or two when I shop!” It really is possible to set a stash back even if it means we have beans everyday til Jesus comes and we go to the real “feast”…….it really isn’t too expensive yet to set back stuff for sprouted bread. Ezekiel lasted a good while on it!

  3. John Michael said

    If you fail to plan, you’ve planned to fail.

  4. lilac said

    Just thinking about this topic early today. Just thought I’d share that Overstock has some really good prices on dehydrated food buckets. I bought some a year or so ago along with other supplies, although I’d like to think I haven’t gone overboard with it :)

    http://www.overstock.com/search?keywords=food&SearchType=Header

    Also, LA, with your cold, you might want to try Zicam (the spray kind) and Ocean (saline nasal spray) as a preventative. I’d get everything if I didn’t take precautions, especially when flying. Now, I’ve gone years without getting a cold or flu. You can use saline everyday and 2-3 doses of Zicam when you’re around high risk people or places. (If anyone is interested, the “Maker’s Diet” explains why the saline works so well and how some people avoided the plague using saltwater.) Although I don’t know if you can take Zicam everyday indefinitely, I’d ask your doctor, maybe zinc would be better for everyday use.

  5. Matt said

         
    If anything is certain, it is that change is certain. The world we are planning for today will not exist in this form tomorrow.

  6. Mariel said

    My handyman–most practical man in the world–decided not to plant an acre this year, rather than his little vegetable plot. He had already reached the conclusion I have…that is there is not enough water coming from his irrigation ditch, or my hose, there will not be enough to support the acre of growing food. He has a well twice the depth of his neighbors’ wells, and he will have enough water to drink and to raise his usual small patch of vegetables, his cows and pigs, on his acres in the Rio Grande valley. But not enough to raise the larger patch that preppers are advising. His neighbors’ wells may fail. Then what?

    I have land in my back yard, and I could pay him or someone to grow stuff there…I couldn’t do it myself. But if our drought continues, there may be no water coming from my hose, and the garden would fail, as would the gardens of the Mormons who live near me.
    So why, as my handyman said, waste that effort?
    I have a few things stored, but I don’t have enough water stored to last for months. It would get stale anyway (old bottled water, in good containers, does get stale). Deyos advise putting chlorine in water in barrels for long term storage. I am not strong enough physically to do this, and I don’t react well to chlorine anyway.

    Now that radiation may have been leaked in Carlsbad, as I said in yesterday’s comments post (who knows the truth?) it looks like our
    efforts to survive are wholly dependent on God. Prepping isn’t going to do it for long.

    And God did mention that we would throw our gold and silver into the street….

    • Jimmy D. said

      If you can, you might contemplate a gravity fed water filter to help prevent consuming stale water that might be questionable. After a lot of contemplating, I ordered a Big Berkey a few weeks ago. I haven’t assembled it yet, but feel very good about having it now. I got mine here http://www.bigberkeywaterfilters.com/berkey-water-filters/berkey-filter-systems.html?gclid=CKiF8uvU7LwCFahj7AodyGgAAQ and recieved 5% off by typing alex jones in the coupon section. Hope this helps with researching water options. Can’t live very long without the stuff.

      God Bless and Godspeed,
      Jimmy D.

    • Jimmy D. said

      Have you thought about a gravity fed water filter system?

    • Elaine said

      Chlorine treated water can be poured back and forth between open pitchers until the chlorine dissipates. Just leave it open til the smell goes away. And I could not afford a big expensive Berkey that I thought I wanted but I did get just the filters and have buckets to rig my own in 5 gallon food pails if and when I need it!
      I am very lucky to live just a few block from a big clean river and Lake Michigan so I will plant a garden with my heirloom seeds but other things (like being old :-) and creaky) prevent me from doing a big enough plot. Just a 4×8 foot raised bed and a couple of large containers outdoors. But, we have to do what we can.
      My heart goes out to you all in the drought lands!

    • Elaine said

      http://filterbucket.com/shop/page/3?shop_param=

    • Mariel said

      Jimmy and Elaine, the problem is not the filtration. I have a filter under the sink which filters my drinking water. The problem is when there is no water at all because electricity fails and the computer run parts of water systems fail. Nothing comes out of the tap.

    • Jimmy D. Hammett said

      Oh. I understand that. One reason I brought a gravity fed filter up is that you mentioned a concern about storing extra water and it going stale. Some of these types of filters can address this issue I believe and help increase it being safe to drink if you ever went that route.

    • Elaine said

      Yeah, that is the hardest thought for water. I know I am blessed to live near so much. Also…..remember, the minute it goes down to shut off the intake and power to your water heater and then you can use the drain valve to get clean water from the drain valve at the bottom. there may be some sediment but that will just be a bit with clean water above. I know mine holds around 50 gallons.

  7. Jimmy D. said

    L. A. I have a question. Here while back you posted that you have 55 gallon barrels full of beans. Are the beans all contained in the barrels or is there a giant mylar bag in them. Or did you place smaller mylar bags into the barrels. I have some 6 gallon buckets of beans that came that way in a big mylar bag with oxygen absorbers in them. I just recieved a couple of food grade empty buckets with some good gama lids and am debating wheter to dump all of my product into a larg mylar bag with oxygen absorbers, or put the stuff in smaller mylar bags.

    I am working on packing more beans and pasta right now. I have been buying the products at the store, freezing it to hopefully kill and possilbe larvae that might be present, airing the product out, and putting in mylar bags with oxygen absorbers. I live in an apartment, so I have to be creative. This has become a new hobby.

    I find myself asking if the stuff hit the fan today, what immediate needs do I need right now at this moment and have been aquring stuff gradually.

    I have been thinking about the candle situation next. I have been temepted to order supplies and make my own soy candles. Or maybe order some to have on hand, then move on to experimenting.

    God Bless and Godspeed,
    Jimmy D.

  8. godshelp74 said

    “This is impacting the growing of crops which accounts for a good amount of the food the USA consumes.”….. With the malevolence that comes out of Hollywood I can’t help but think California is overdue , and when the ‘big one” hits it’s going to be beyond any devastation that any of us can imagine…..With all that we export what will happen to the rest of the country…Long beach shipping yards , the amount we export and import……ughhh, it’s and ugly thought..

  9. Mrs M said

    Has anyone considered this?
    Rev 6:6
    And I heard a voice in the midst of the four beasts say, A measure of wheat for a penny, and three measures of barley for a penny; and see thou hurt not the oil and the wine.

    Deu 7:11 Thou shalt therefore keep the commandments, and the statutes, and the judgments, which I command thee this day, to do them.
    Deu 7:12 Wherefore it shall come to pass, if ye hearken to these judgments, and keep, and do them, that the LORD thy God shall keep unto thee the covenant and the mercy which he sware unto thy fathers:
    Deu 7:13 And he will love thee, and bless thee, and multiply thee: he will also bless the fruit of thy womb, and the fruit of thy land, thy corn, and thy wine, and thine oil, the increase of thy kine, and the flocks of thy sheep, in the land which he sware unto thy fathers to give thee.
    Deu 7:14 Thou shalt be blessed above all people: there shall not be male or female barren among you, or among your cattle.
    Deu 7:15 And the LORD will take away from thee all sickness, and will put none of the evil diseases of Egypt, which thou knowest, upon thee; but will lay them upon all them that hate thee.

    The upcoming judgment will lie squarely upon those who do not remain obedient to God. God promises to bless you, not lump you into judgment with the unbelievers.

    • What greater blessing for those saints that come out of great tribulation…
      – out of famine and exposure and pain (likely dying with others young & old)
      – than to dwell with Almighty God !!

      Revelation 7

      (v. 9-12)
      After this I beheld, and, lo,
      a great multitude which no man could number
      – of all nations, and kindreds, and people, and tongues
      stood before the throne and before the Lamb
      clothed with white robes and palms in their hands
      – And cried with a loud voice, saying,
      – Salvation to our God which sitteth upon the throne and unto the Lamb.

      And all the angels stood round about the throne and about the elders and the four beasts,
      – and fell before the throne on their faces and worshipped God, Saying, Amen:
      – Blessing, and glory, and wisdom, and thanksgiving, and honour, and power, and might,
      – be unto our God for ever and ever. Amen.

      (v. 13-17)
      And one of the elders answered, saying unto me,
      – What are these which are arrayed in white robes? and whence came they?
      And I said unto him, Sir, thou knowest. And he said to me
      – These are they which came out of great tribulation
      – and have washed their robes and made them white in the blood of the Lamb.

      Therefore are they before the throne of God and serve Him day and night in His temple
      – and He that sitteth on the throne shall dwell among them
      They shall hunger no more, neither thirst any more
      neither shall the sun light on them nor any heat.
      For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them
      – and shall lead them unto living fountains of waters
      – and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.

    • Mrs M said

      Agreed Nome! I pray that I be found worthy to escape such things. I think that those on the narrow path will not have to endure these hardships; ie there are first fruits (barley), there is wheat (great multitude) and there is grape (winepress of wrath of God.)

    • I agree Mrs M. I believe we’re in accord.

      The fitches and cumin and bread corn are prepared as must be (Isa. 28:23-29)
      The Lord’s Jewels come through the polishing (Malachi 3:16-18)
      The Philadelphia church is spared the “hour of temptation” (Rev. 3:10).
      The advance party of New Jerusalem is protected and nourished in the wilderness (Rev. 12:6 & Rev. 12:14 confirms)

      Revelation 20:4-6 (The Tribulation Martyrs’ Return with Christ .. and conduct judgment)

      And I saw thrones, and they sat upon them, and judgment was given unto them:
      – and I saw the souls of them that were beheaded for the witness of Jesus
      – and for the word of God, and which had not worshipped the beast
      – neither his image, neither had received his mark upon their foreheads, or in their hands
      – and <b.they lived and reigned with Christ a thousand years

      But the rest of the dead lived not again until the thousand years were finished.
      This is the first resurrection. Blessed and holy is he that hath part in the first resurrection
      – on such the second death hath no power, but they shall be priests of God and of Christ
      – and shall reign with him a thousand years

    • It’s worth noting that those that do not believe Christ…
      – will not look beyond the surface of what He’s said (no ears to hear)
      – can not see spiritual things (no eyes to see)
      – treat parables as just stories or myth (no mouth to speak)
      …like the 3 little monkeys they think they came from.

      Contrast with the Overcomers…
      – the Blood of the Lamb
      – love not their own lives unto death
      – the Word of their Testimony

  10. I share everyone’s concern Re: supplies in case of an emergency. I was going through my “bucket” I ordered a little over a year ago to update myself on what it stored. Feeling a bit satisfied I began to wonder if I had enough to share. Although I come from a big family, I hadn’t planned enough to include them. They’re not into “end times prophecy.” I also, regardless of their philosophy, would never forgive myself if I didn’t share my provisions. So I’m expanding myself to rethink and include more for others.

    RE: water…55 gallon containers sound good to me. Storage in small Mylar bags is better to allow for portion control and avoid spoilage. Beans, rice, pasta sounds solid. Makeshift stoves excellent–avoid danger causing gasses.

    I do have a column dedicated to survival on one of my websites full of teaching videos if anyone is interested in learning how to properly prepare:

    “http://christianbibleprophecy.com/survival”

    I learned a lot watching them. Being prepared brings peace and confidence.

    Re: water… God is our provider. Pray to the One who created water. Remember Moses and in the wilderness God sliced a mountain side causing water to gush out providing water to over a million people!

    “Http://seashoremary.wordpress.com/2012/08/12/nwo-agenda-21-who-does-own-the-rain/”

    Blessings!

  11. Peter said

    Yes, interesting times to believers in Christ, L.A!

    Same here, just today: Australian government giving $320 million “hands up’ rather than a “hands down” to the suffering drought-stricken farmers.

    Interesting choice of words by the government… Achtung!

    Maranatha!!!

    God bless!

  12. John T said

    Not to sound crude, but we have friends whose parents live in Venezuela, and one item they need is T.P. It could also be used as a barter item. I hope it doesn’t come down to this, but society’s decay seems to be gaining momentum.

    • Elaine said

      A favorite line on TV last year in Revolution (show about the grid going down.) It is long years after the power went out and the genius nerd guy says, “I was a big shot at google with 8 million dollars in an account I can never access again and I would trade it all for a roll of toilet paper.” :-)

    • John T said

      Lol. Good line

  13. pithypaul said

    I don’t understand this CA drought.
    What I’ve heard the past few days is that “the rains we’ve gotten are great and we’re almost out of the woods now.”
    How is that? Worst drought in 100 years and a couple heavy rain storms solve the problem? What am I missing?

    • pithypaul said

      It’s like Rosanne Rosanna-dana…”never mind!”

    • Mariel said

      It’s nonsense. CA will have to get lots more rain or snow in order to emerge from the drought. Same here in NM only not so bad as CA. We got rain today and snow is predicted, with high winds, for the weekend.

  14. catherine said

    Just wondering is there a show on tonight? Haven’t seen anything posted yet.

  15. James said

    Reblogged this on Montana Truth Seekers and commented:
    Something to think about with the tetrad approaching.

  16. Thanks L.A.

    LOVE

  17. Half Navajo said

    I am trying to get my parents set up with food and water. I plan on going to Ecuador this june… and if anything happens while I’m gone, it would make me more sane knowing they have some stuff. I think the drought in california isn’t really a drought… its always been a desert where they put farms and orchards… the elite drained the reservoirs, so basically no irrigation, turns right back into its original form of a desert.

  18. Mariel said

    Just wanted to say it one more time because it’s important: Even if you have a good filter for water, it won’t wok if you don’t have water. For most people, that means water coming through a pipe or ditch. The water through a pipe (and sometimes through the ditch) is regulated by timers which are run by computers. Same as modern cars. Computer run. If you have access to some putrid puddle somewhere, which you can put through your Berkey, great, you have it made. But most of us do not have putrid puddles lying nearby. Closest putrid puddle to me will be the Rio Grande, and hauling water out of it would be a nightmare–and can you imagine the people crowding the banks of the little river? It would like like the Ganges. And like the Ganges, infected perhaps. Only the young, strong, and tough will make it that way. If you’re one of those, you may make it if this scenario erupts. Hope for gentler mercy from God.

  19. godshelp74 said

    L.A., little end of day thought…I saw a sticker today that said EAT YOU GMO’S, DRINK YOUR FLUOURIDE AND STAY ASLEEP!….made me chuckle and think of you always telling fools to WAKE UP!!…..I’m not into bumper stickers but you should create one..I’ll put it on my car..:) I’m sure all the rest of these kids would tooo…

    P.s. you’ve been sold out of watchers hats forever…we want to order some…I’m bugging russ dizdar about his shop too, he’s all out of women’s Tees..just a side thought…

  20. Gordy said

  21. Gordy said

  22. “http://www.disclose.tv/action/viewvideo/167406/Seventy_Two_Hour_Bag/” (for 3 day emergencies)

  23. In 2008-2009 around that time, I could look up exact day in my journal, I had a vision just before the church was caught up on the Lord in the clouds, and food was being rationed in the states. I saw desolation as if a nuclear war had removed all land much like Hiroshima photos I’ve seen. The Lord moved my heart to give away food then and not to gather it. But that was my personal instruction. If I have 6 months of food storage in my house, in the event of a shortage, I would feed my neighbors and would be depleted within days. Consider then the wisdom of giving now either instead of stockpiling, or in addition to stockpiling, whatever the Spirit leads you to do. “Give and it will be given to you in good measure, pressed down and overflowing”.
    My advice then would be to focus now, in light of current events and looming danger, on pouring out what you have rather than, or in addition to, hoarding. I have found that placing my trust in God’s promises always prevails over any attempt of my own to manage a disaster. We are still in abundance. Give now where there is true need, in great discernment, and it will be returned unto you in overflowing measure.

    God is so good!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,594 other followers

