L.A. Marzulli's Blog

Politics, Prophecy & the Supernatural

Sunday Go to Meeting Bun!

Posted by lamarzulli on May 6, 2012

Sunday Bun

by

L. A. Marzulli

    Mat 10: 37 “Anyone who loves his father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; anyone who loves his son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and anyone who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.

When I first read this passage 32 years ago, I said, “What, how can that be?  The above statement by Yashua/Jesus, seemed impossible and frankly like He was on the ultimate ego trip.   32 years later I can say that this saying applies to my life.  I love my wife, my parents, and my children, but I love Him, whom I have never seen, more.  Why?  Because I know by experience not theory that He is my savior, that he plucked me out of a life of drugs, bondage, and the occult.  Because unlike the guru that I followed, and later the spirit guides that I embraced, He went to the core of my being and where there was darkness He brought light.  He delivered me from the deception that I had bought into and I became born from above.   He shed his blood for me on Calvary and by that blood I am cleansed, made whole, left in right standing with the Father.  I can now cry out Abba, Father, for I am an adopted son, a king and a priest and although I am still on this earth, He sees me seated with him in heaven and no angel or man can snatch that away from me.

I am reading a book by a well-known author who in one chapter talks about Christianity.  He is right when he points to the corruption of the church with indulgences, and the buying of church offices.  He is right when he denounces the inquisition, and the wars that were fought in the name of its founder.  However, what he doesn’t understand, what eludes him is the experience of being born from above, or born again as most people call it today.  This is what set the ancient world on its head!  This is what Christianity was and still is today.  For me it was the most life changing day in my life.  It was the start of a new way of life, where the God I had searched for came to me and through His spirit, dwelt within me; not in some controlled, possession, making me an automaton, but a hand that guides, loves, comforts, instructs, and when necessary, correct.

All of us who have had this experience know of what I speak of and I think we would agree that we love Him more than even life itself, because He is our Redeemer King.  Those of us who have invited Him into our lives, now have eternal life.  We have the promise that He will present us before the Father with joy and singing.  These are not idle words, but a foreshadow of what is to come.  Though we sometimes do and say things that are hurtful, prideful, or self-serving we are all moving toward a point in time when we will see Him face to face and know as we are known.  The promise of His coming, while to some seems like a fairy tale, is nevertheless a reality that will change this planet forever.  In the meantime, for those of us who are born from above, we love Him and long for His return.

In closing todays Bun:  Some of you who may be reading this may think I’m nuts.  That’s OK.  I thought anyone who believed in Jesus was deluded, until one day, in the privacy of my room, with no prodding by anyone, I asked Him to come into my life and change it.  He showed up and my life has never been the same.  He is love.  I can’t say it plainer or simpler than that.  Jesus is love.  He will take the wasted years, the broken dreams, the bitterness, the hardness of heart and heal it all.  That is what He loves to do, heal us.   He will send His spirit into us, and all of this we get by asking Him for it.  Simple huh?  My mentor Wayne Kendall used to say, if it was more difficult than that, nobody would get it!  Wayne was right.  If you don’t know Him, ask Him into your life.  He is the Prince of Peace!  He is standing at the door to your heart and waiting for you to invite Him in.  Go ahead, ask Him in….

25 Responses to “Sunday Go to Meeting Bun!”

  1. Joyce said

    Thank you L A for this scripture on this day….I needed that!!!

  2. Brian said

    Well said Mr. Marzulli, have a blessed day sir.

  3. JAN said

    L.A. thanks for being so willing to expose yourself to us so very openly, I can say a lot of your past experience i share as well. Including being born again.

  4. LInda said

    Well spoken words straight from a heart Jesus touched. We do agree!

  5. Extremely inspiring. Thank You

  6. Extremely inspiring this beautiful Sunday morning. Thank you.

  7. Eric W. said

    “Some of you who may be reading this may think I’m nuts. ” Yeah, but we love you anyways, brother. ;-p Seriously though, amen to that Bun. Have a blessed day!

  8. Gina E. said

    Mr LA.. I agape you! Course, I decided you were nuts when you said you were going to Chichen Itza Dec 21 2012. I really really hate I missed meeting you in Raleigh last January, but at least I know I’ll get to meet you on the other side of Glory! Wont be much longer either. Keeping you and your family in me prayers, asking God to keep you safe, sane as possible, healthy, willing and able to keep doing what you do, and I thank God for you.

  9. PhyllisR said

    Amen

  10. Mrs M said

    LA,
    Thank you for that! Beautifully said.

  11. Elaine said

    Amen and amen!!!! That is a very important concept that is hard to convey and you have done it beautifully! You reminded me of a chat once where my Aunt Evy taught me by saying that my parents had a great marriage because they did not put me and my brothers first…..(that was an eye opener to this little princess!!!!)
    She explained that their priorities were first to God and then to each other….(by now I am really feeling rejected knocked down to 3rd place!) but she finished up by explaining how that hierarchy made them able to love me in the best way and linked it to “the last shall be first.”
    If we don’t learn love from that perfect Love first then we cannot pass any love to anyone else and if they had placed me first then they would be doing it backwards and love would fail.

    Once I was chatting with a flaky bride to be who was telling me all about her wedding plans which were all about her. “My dress, on the beach, barefoot and trendy, flowers and how she would dress her ‘Ken doll’ groom and line up the audience to admire her…..I asked if she was having a minister or civil ceremony and she said, “Oh, my mother would freak if I didn’t have a minister” and then told me she wanted the boring vows part to be simple….”You love me, I love you, we love God”
    There is backwards for ya!

  12. John said

    Amen LA. Jesus saved me from drugs,alcohol and other addictions as well. He brought me down off the ledge…literally. Thank you Jesus for saving a wretch like me.

  13. Candace Brown said

    The article was inspiring but I was disappointed that you failed to mention the very words of Y’shua, “Repent and follow Me.” Repentance is about turning from the ways of the world and following the ways of the Master. Repent is not a word heard much anymore and may well be watering down the value of following the Master. It could be that by not teaching the value of repentance new believers are also not being prepared for the battle. From what you write I feel sure that you have repented from all that past junk in which you found yourself involved. Your life now is a great testimony for what Y’shua can do with any life that chooses Him.

    • Louie said

      Candace,
      Thank you for bringing this up. My church, which seems to be dancing on the edge of picking and choosing which parts of the Word they want to believe or hear, does not seem to include the “repent” word either. During studies I remind people that if we do not know we are lost, condemned, and need a savior. What are you believing? Some get it, some don’t. Some say, well the concept is part of believing in/on Jesus/Yeshua. You do not need to say or include the – Admit you are fallen and repent. But James 2:19 Says “You believe there is one God. You do well. Even the demons believe, and tremble.” I realize this passage is about showing your faith by your works, but it also tells us the fallen ones believe on and fear God. Because I have become so very sensitive to this issue, I appreciate your addressing how important repentance is to the Gospel message.
      And thank you LA for your blog. I, like many others, visit the site every day. There are so many important, breaking, and Godly things here, it has become a part of each day. I appreciate your being a watchman. And I also appreciate all those who comment, share news, encourage one another, pray for one another, etc. Praise the Lord for His grace and mercy.

  14. Judith said

    LA…so very well said. Thank you.

  15. binny said

    Yes, we’re to take up “our” Cross (daily). I’ve pondered this almost continually for the past few years. This, I’m convinced, is THE SECRET of the gospel. We’re to be so entangled (think quantum physics) with God that our very essence, our atoms, our being, our electrons merge and sync with the Jesus whose climactic action was to hang on (his/our) Cross.
    The power’s to be found on the other side of the Cross, where the victory for Jesus was also found. That’s the resurrection-inspired victory.
    Remember, Paul said he’s preach NOTHING but the Cross. Sounds boring to our minds, or at least, pretty monotone. But that’s all Paul wanted to know and to teach.
    The Cross, I’m convinced, was to be found in heaven before the foundations of the world, in Eden, in the OT, in the NT, in the Millenium, and in the New Jerusalem.
    The Cross. That’s all we need.

  16. Thank you…well said…it’s true. Beyond my own salvation, my greatest treasure in this life was when my husband was born again.
    You speak of joy and singing to come, and so did Isaiah, when he said we will “awake and sing”! (Isaiah 19:26)

  17. ansem77 said

    Awesome Bun, Marzulli!

    Yeshua Yeshua by Karen Davis Messianic Lyrics

  18. charliewalksonwater said

    crazy is as crazy does. I’m with ya LA. My parents are in heaven, and I always knew they were crazy!

  19. Mary Lofts said

    As usual, LA is right on target. I know he is in tune with the Holy Spirit when I read his insight and intrinsic wisdom ,sharing truth from God’s Word. So, I must then listen with an open mind to my dear brother, our watchman.

  20. Eamonn said

    Amen…may the lord be with you L.A. and all who follow your writings here…your brother in Yeshua

  21. I’m saved and my name is written in Heaven, by the sacrifice that our Savior, Jesus of Nazareth / Yeshua Messiah, (and The Lamb Slain), made of His own body, delivering himself up to torture and death on the Cross to pay the penalty of death for my sin. And He resurrected, was seen of the witnesses, and ascended in due time up to the throne of God, His Father in Heaven. And His sacrifice is counted all sufficient by The Father for all who will accept it, by which eternal life with Him is also given.

    If we each had to wear a mark to show which savior we wanted, mine would be Christ’s blood on me from the Cross. That said, more truly He chose us.

    I identify with the “that which was nought” verse in scripture, as just so much waste and offal in the eyes of the world. That’s probably what they thought of His body broken and His blood spilt. So, let them think of me as garbage and sewage and let’s see what Christ does with that.

    1st Corinthians 1
    18 For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.

    19 For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding of the prudent.20 Where is the wise? where is the scribe? where is the disputer of this world? hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.

    22 For the Jews require a sign, and the Greeks seek after wisdom: 23 But we preach Christ crucified, unto the Jews a stumblingblock, and unto the Greeks foolishness; 24 But unto them which are called, both Jews and Greeks, Christ the power of God, and the wisdom of God.

    25 Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men.26 For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called: 27 But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; 28 And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: 29 That no flesh should glory in his presence.

    30 But of him are ye in Christ Jesus, who of God is made unto us wisdom, and righteousness, and sanctification, and redemption:
    31 That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.

  22. Mary in Wisconsin said

    Today at Sunday School the speaker quoted Corrie ten Boom as saying that she held people and things loosely, in case the Lord took them away, which is His to do. As I age and grow to love the Lord more and more, I see the wisdom in her words. Thank you for your ministry.

  23. flatlanderforever said

    Thanks L.A. for this post. You have become my favorite and I look forward to going to your blog daily. I often laugh out loud in agreement and can relate to your worldview so well. Your humility shows through as does
    your relationship with your Savior.

  24. latenightlisa said

    Excellent L.A. !

    Grant Jeffery is in the ICU & his wife is requesting prayer warriors to interceed for him. (He’s exposed quite a bit of stuff too. ) http://www.grantjeffrey.com/

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,807 other followers

